Twilight Past Midnight

So, I just finished reading Twilight. It might be because I was so riveted by the book and I couldn’t put it down, so I stayed up until 2am reading. Then again, it might be that I’m grappling with a bout of insomnia the past few nights. Actually, it’s market research. I’m fairly certain that I’m going to write a vampire novel to contribute to the gross oversaturation of the market. (If you’ve walked around a Barnes & Noble in the past three years, you’ll know what I’m talking about.)

How some readers feel about Twilight

If you’ve already read Twilight, you know that you read the book from Bella’s perspective, hopefully identifying with her as the “every-girl” that doesn’t know how special she is until enough strangers affirm it for her. Her affirmation comes from Edward, a 90 year-old vampire in a 17 year-old body. We all know that vampires are inexplicably rich and drive fast cars (in a variety of expensive makes and models), are handsome to a fault, and have charisma coming out the yin-yang. Thanks to this book, the entire female population of North America (with the possible exception of the Amish) knows that vampires sparkle. 

The first half of the book was slooooow. Then, the vampires start playing baseball. That’s when things get interesting, because that’s when the bad vampire that wants to eat Bella shows up.

I’m not going to say awful, nasty things about this book. I’m a 20-something, and not a big romance reader, but this book managed to keep me up until 2am reading. I’m not sure if I’ll bother with any of the others or not, but I’m not ruling it out. However, I found Edward’s repeated talk of how “dangerous” he is as off-putting as if any teenage boy were saying it. If you ARE dangerous, shut up about it already, and do something dangerous. Like be an actual vampire, instead of an animal-hunting emo sissy. 

If I was thirteen I’d have loved the book, hands down. I know gals in their 30s that love the book, so it’s certainly readable.  Odds are good that if you’re a guy, you won’t like it. If you read a lot of books that are not romance or Young Adult novels, you probably will not like it. If you don’t believe in love at first sight, you probably aren’t gonna like it. If you’re a big vampire/romance novel/creepy vampire-human crossbreed/unicorns and princess fan, this book is for you.

Sample:

We sat silently, looking into each other’s eyes – trying to read each other’s thoughts.  

He broke the silence first.

“Maybe that’s not the right comparison. Maybe it would be too easy to turn down the brandy. Perhaps I should have made our alcoholic a heroin addict instead.”

“So what you’re saying is, I’m your brand of heroin,” I teased, trying to lighten the mood.

He smiled swiftly, seeming to appreciate my effort. “Yes, you are exactly my brand of heroin.”

“Does that happen often?” I asked.

(It’s apparently not odd to this teen that her sweetie is talking about alcoholism and heroin; all she wants to know is, how many “brands” he takes up with.)

If you haven’t read it and you want to, get it here.


About literatelibran

Writer of words, thinker of thoughts, dreamer of dreams, mom. View all posts by literatelibran

One response to “Twilight Past Midnight

Leave a Reply

